.

Things to Do With Kids on Rainy Days in the Napa Valley

What does your family do for entertainment when the storms move in for days on end? Some Napa Valley moms share their suggestions and we invite your recommendations in the comments.

Rainy days are here again, and that can lead to cabin fever when kids — and parents — don't get out to play.

After you've taken the family to the new Century cinemas, Napa Bowl, the Napa Firefighters Museum downtown and the Napa Valley Museum in Yountville, where else can you look for indoor entertainment? 

Last year, during our Moms Talk series, I asked some Napa mothers how they kept the kids amused when storms move in for days on end.

Lola Cornish-Nickens, of Community Resources for Children in Napa, doesn't believe in letting the clouds, rain and puddles hold you back.

"I am ... a strong supporter of going out to play – yes, even when it’s muddy and rainy!" she said.

Cathy Felder backed her up: "Few things are more fun than splashing in puddles," she said.

For indoor adventures, both Cornish-Nickens and Julie Gerien recommended Scientopia Discovery Center at 1785 Tanen St.: "the perfect place to play away a rainy day," in Lola's words.

"We also sometimes head to PB&J's bounce house if the kids seem like they have a lot of energy," Gerien added.

"The library is another easy place," she said.

All of those spots have their appeal, as does simply playing in the rain. But if you've got more suggestions for rainy days, we would love to hear them!

What do you do with your kids when it's rainy? Tell us in the comments.

  • Real-Time Water Level Data for Napa River and Creeks
  • What to Do if the Power Goes Out: Safety Tips from PG&E
  • Watch: Flood Control Tames Napa Creek
  • High Water in the Napa Valley: Share Photos Here

Stay Patched in! Follow Napa Valley Patch on Twitter | Like Napa Valley Patch on Facebook | Sign up for the daily email with links to the latest news | Got something to say? Start a blog and share your views.

Cathy Gumina Odom December 02, 2012 at 07:50 PM
Playing cards, Yahtzee, Monopoly. Inviting other families over to play Apples to Apples (hours of fun!) and Cranium (need big teams) or Pictionary.
Mary Richardson December 03, 2012 at 02:00 AM
Smack 'em around, same as always! (Kidding, kidding!)
Mary Richardson December 03, 2012 at 02:03 AM
Seriously, though, I love the game playing! We used to play so many board/card/dice games. I think the computer games and internet has kind of put a damper on that, and it makes me kind of sad.
Cathy Gumina Odom December 03, 2012 at 03:10 AM
Mary, don't worry, they beg us to have dinner parties and invite people over to play games! Apples to Apples is great, clean fun. We also play with friends from England on New Years Eve. There is more to life than computers and the Internet; they are just tools.
Mary Richardson December 03, 2012 at 04:52 AM
Cathy, I'm so glad! We still play gin rummy and dominoes at our place! I'd play more games, but people I play with say I tend to win .... lol! Some of what they say is true! So glad to see you're keeping the trend going!
Ash Leigh December 03, 2012 at 04:58 AM
Decorate the indoors for Christmas. :) That kept my 14yr old busy.
Mary Richardson December 03, 2012 at 05:03 AM
Yes, Louise, we are just about to start decorating. The kids are grown now, but the decorating tradition still plays an important part in their/our lives!
Melinda Hawks December 03, 2012 at 03:20 PM
This past weekend we discovered the children's play area at the Fairfield Mall! It's clean, safe, and FREE! My 13 month old played for 45 minutes, we shopped, and then he played before we got back in the car. He snored the whole way home. This is sure to become a destination for us on rainy days.
Cathy Gumina Odom December 03, 2012 at 04:34 PM
I love Gin Rummy! Played with my great aunt Tillie Tarantino D'Acquisto for hours. My dads family were fishermen from a Sicilian village, migrated to North Beach in San Francisco. They would cook big pots of stews on the boat and play card games for hours, like my Nonno, Sal Gumina. My Aunt Dena Gumina taught all us kids how to play poker and blackjack. Helped with game strategy, counting, statistics. Many of us went to UC Davis and USF. Helped a lot to know cards well as kids before playing in college. Several cousins played worked summers in Tahoe as blackjack dealers too. We enjoy getting together in Reno for our annual Salesian Boys and Girls Club golf tournament and playing a little poker and blackjack there. Lots of fun!
Mary Richardson December 03, 2012 at 06:24 PM
Melinda, I've seen happy kids at that play area in the mall! Cathy, Great story! My great aunt taught me Scrabble when I was little. My dad played Canasta, rummy, and Casino with me, all great card games - he built me a card holder so I wouldn't drop my cards! :)
duncan faber February 18, 2013 at 05:45 AM
When my kids are stuck inside due to bad weather, TV is never an option. It turns them into zombies. LOL! I usually break out the crayons and have them color while they listen to free children's stories that I've downloaded at http://www.twirlygirlshop.com/stories-for-kids
litebrite March 27, 2013 at 05:39 PM
The Scientopia Discovery Center and PB&J's Bounce House sound like a blast for children! What type of things are in the discovery center?

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something