.

Fagiani's and The Thomas: A Night in Photos from Downtown Napa

Napa meets New York at downtown Napa's hottest new eatery, where chef Brad Farmerie threw a party Monday night.

It was worth the wait.

We weren't able to taste chef Brad Farmerie's fare at The Thomas , because city officials hadn't quite signed off on the kitchen.

But the food Farmerie served Monday night, at an invitation-only party for fellow restaurant chefs, media and the construction team that transformed the historic Fagiani building, was worth not only waiting for but celebrating.

I particularly liked the perfectly-seared steak cubes served with bone marrow Bearnaise sauce, just one of many dazzling dishes circulating at the three-story bash.

Restaurant critics will have their say, but I couldn't think of a way to improve the experience of eating succulent food while gazing out the building's vast Palladian windows at downtown Napa and the Napa River, or getting an even loftier view from the rooftop bar.

It was also a pleasure to see restaurateurs and chefs from Kitchen Door, ZuZu and other hotspots taking a break to welcome Farmerie and staff.

Have you been to the Thomas? Let us know how you liked the new restaurant, managed by New York's AvroKO group.

Follow Napa Patch on Twitter | Like Napa Patch on Facebook | Sign up for the daily email with links to the latest news | Got something to say? Start a blog and share your views.

MICHAEL WILSON "Republican Kid" August 28, 2012 at 03:25 PM
Can we get over there 15min of fame? This will not be a place for Locals
Tim Fertiny August 28, 2012 at 03:35 PM
Hey Kid, Why do you say that?
Vanissa August 28, 2012 at 03:56 PM
I would like to hear feedback for this place, as I have reservations soon. Thanks
Ash Leigh August 28, 2012 at 04:03 PM
They are always crowded out the door when I drive past, or in the area. It's nice to see a place where the locals get a bit dressed for, not the standard jeans and t-shirts I see more of. I will give it a go, after the hype dies down a bit. I don't too much like being bumped into with a drink in hand, or trying to enjoy a meal.
Louisa Hufstader (Editor) August 28, 2012 at 04:14 PM
There's plenty of time for us locals coming after crush, Louise. Have you passed a winter here yet? It's nice and there tends to be more elbow room.
Louisa Hufstader (Editor) August 28, 2012 at 04:17 PM
Sure it is, I have only been twice and seen several of the same folks from Napa there both times. Locals work there, too. It's not the cheapest meal on Main Street, but I'm hoping a certain somebody will take me there on a special occasion. Meanwhile, it's closing a gap in the business block, buying and employing locally and generating tax income for our community. And while all the trendy folks are flocking to try it, we can enjoy a little elbow room at other local spots. Works for me.
Tom Ontis August 28, 2012 at 04:31 PM
I hope thee is no 'slippage.'
Tom Ontis August 28, 2012 at 04:32 PM
Oh these fingers: I hope there is no 'slippage.'
Ash Leigh August 28, 2012 at 04:33 PM
Yes, I've spent last winter here. Unfortunately, it was mostly in-doors. I didn't really know anybody but family. I've come to learn though, a lot of "locals" don't too much like downtown. I'm not too sure why. I mostly have to grab friends from out of Napa to enjoy the local restaurants and bars. We always have a good time. Their biggest complaint, that it shuts down too early. Ah, the big city life! I do miss it sometimes.
Louisa Hufstader (Editor) August 28, 2012 at 04:47 PM
Hey Tom, good to hear from you again. Last night, building owner Steve Hasty and I were talking about how Muriel would have liked the way her father's place turned out. "Slippage" would be unfortunate, but these folks are pros. I was very happy to see her uncle's deer heads still on the wall, just facing the opposite direction. All in all I felt it's a sensitive restoration. You should come see it.
Leo Olyn August 28, 2012 at 06:50 PM
Do they plan on having T'shirts made up? Something like"Eat Where You Live" would be nice with "Fagiani's" somewhere name on it. Possible basecaps with "Fagiaini's" on it too??
Belle (Orchid Lady) August 28, 2012 at 09:46 PM
I'm excited to try it also. I have a similar complaint about down town closing too early. They often close restaurants (to prep for diner service) from 2-5pm. As a local, I like to eat at off times to avoid the typical lunch rush, and will often look to enjoy a small lunch at the bar. BUT, there are some places that don't serve food (even at the bar) between 2-5pm, so I take my business to places that are serving during that period. :( As for late night, ask someone in the restaurant business where to 'hang out' for some food and drink. They know where to go. :)
Steve Waygh August 29, 2012 at 12:58 AM
Hey Kid, I believe it's 'their'. Rather than there...... Unless you really want to get over 'there' quick smart! it's the ownership thing ;/)
Marni Luchsinger August 29, 2012 at 07:34 PM
The food is amazing, but a limited menu and disappointing wine list. I have been there twice and on the second visit they were out of a few things on the menu and no ice tea.
Bradley Wasserman August 30, 2012 at 03:23 AM
Marni, I'm sorry you were disappointed by the wine list. It will continue to grow a bit but mostly it will be a rotating selection of seemingly interesting wines. Please let me know what you were hoping for and I'll do my best. Thanks for the early support and feedback. It's all really appreciated! Bradley Wasserman (I'm the head wine guy).
Louisa Hufstader (Editor) August 30, 2012 at 03:45 AM
Welcome, Bradley, and thank you.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something